Rooftop, Cebu City

comment 1
Anywhere - anytime

bnw_rooftop14152137_10210653131946981_1665652977_oRooftop, The Tide, Cebu City, Philippines. Ph: Ezekiel Sullano

I’ve been all of the place recently, spending more time than any normal person on airplanes flying back and forth between Europe, the Caribbean, and Asia. Not that I’m complaining though, but it’s good to be back home. The funny thing is that as I’m writing this I’m checking in to yet another flight. This time it’s not Korea or Cuba but a Swedish domestic flight up to visit my sister in Umeå, the far north of our sock-shaped country.
I haven’t spend much time up there so this trip is going to be exiting. Did you know I’ve never experienced the northern lights? And yes, apparently you experience it, you don’t see it. I completely understand why my viking ancestors had such respect for the phenomenon when they looked up at the sky and saw the whirlwind of light in the dark sky. Apparently it was common to believe the light were closely connected to death. Of course, in those times you’d hope to go to Valhalla, today a large part of Sweden is atheist.

Personally I’d like to see it as a fibre of the universe breaking free from it’s surrounding bonds and reminding you of the brief and valuable time we have on this earth, placing things in the perspective that there are things way larger than ourselves that we cannot possibly begin to understand. That we are, after all, meaningless in the grand scale of things, but that theres is beauty in that as well and we should live it and never look back.

But what do I know, I haven’t even seen it.

 

1 Comment

  1. Good perspective on it. Hope it’s enhanced by your experience of it. I pray there will be no clouds!

Leave a Reply

