weirdo

comments 5
Anywhere - anytime

garage_wedcpys

Today’s thoughts on the future: Being young is about living out the best years of your life in a way that you’ll remember when you get old, not about worrying what you’ll do in 20 years time.

We live in a perfectionistic world where people chase an unreal standard of living at a younger and younger age, and burn themselves out trying to get to it. When I was in high school at least 60% of the kids knew what uni they wanted to get into and what jobs they wanted to get. It always struck me as strange how these 16-18 year olds seemed to know exactly what they wanted from the future when they hadn’t even moved out from home, or had a real job. Back then I wish I was them, I wish I had known exactly what I wanted but I just didn’t.

All I know is that I don’t want to be a person that lives for a holiday I take every year to get away from a job I don’t like. I don’t want to have to pay for things I don’t need but is crammed down my throat by the norms and standards of my culture. I hate it when people tell me what do do, and it makes me so angry and so sad when people think they have to fulfil some frame in order to have a good life. What I want is to travel, to see the world, to experience, and I want to have a job that makes me happy. We forget that quality of living is not due to the amount of money we have in the bank, it’s about how you feel about your life. Sure, money can buy the necessities, but I would rather have less money and be happy than having loads of it and be fucking miserable.

I’m 23 years old, I’m a year and a half into my bachelors, I like to climb trees and drink too much champagne and I’m starting to stress about the future. People are getting married and having kids left and right and I’m just sitting here like “I want to go to Australia and live on the beach”.

5 Comments

  1. Ditto! Life is too short, and the world is too big. You’ve got to follow your passion and explore the world when you can. You can’t avoid adulthood and future planning, but you can still fully ‘live’ and enjoy life without letting the stupid, unnecessary things about life that do not matter bog you down. So, who cares what everyone else is doing and just be different and live your life and direct it to the way you want it to be! 🙂

Leave a Reply

