Vegan Curry Lentil Coconut soup

comments 12
Food

souppcoco

1st exam done and done well, only seven left.

Luzern is grey and rainy today so I thought I would make something warm and yummy for lunch.
I present to you a vegan curry coconut lentil soup! Say whaaaat yes I know it was the first time I had heard of lentil and curry together before either but trust me it’s amaaazing and just hot enough to make your lips tingle.

  • 1 tbsp olive/coconut oil
  • 1 large red onion, chopped
  • 1 spring onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1-2 tbsp green curry paste
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 300ml coconut milk
  • 1 cup (natural) tomato sauce can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cups dry red lentils
  • Garnish: chopped parsley

Heat up the oil in a pan, fry the onion and garlic for a few minutes.

In a saucepan, mix the vegetable broth, coconut milk and tomato paste and add it to the lentils. Add the onion-mixture, bring to a boil and then let it simmer for 20 min or until the lentils are very soft (if the soup is too thick at this point, thin it with some water/vegetable broth).

In the very end, throw some parsley into the soup and if you want to, use it as garnish. Yum!

vegancocos

12 Comments

  1. violetannie63 says

    Oh that looks yummy! I am unable to eat coconut or lentils due to a kidney condition…but if I could, I would definitely make this! 🙂

  2. Would love to try this. I also make a vegan chili with coconut oil to sauté the veggies. YUM!

  3. M says

    Looks good….I am not a Vegan so I wonder if I would like it.

  4. Hello and thanks for stopping by Self-help Health and liking my post on tongue scraping. I always appreciate when someone takes the time to leave a like or comment, plus it helps lead me to what they’re up to, like this nice blog of yours and this delicious sounding recipe. Periodically I put together posts with recipes I’ve come across that I think people might like to try, so I think I will feature this in the next one I do. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for the kind words! Sure that sounds cool, I’ll have to check it out. As long as you link it back to my original recipe you can use it, no problem.

      • Yes, I always provide info about where something came from and a link to the source. 🙂

  5. looks and sounds yummy! and i have red lentils that i haven’t used! great recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

